The short-lists for the Digital Health Awards 2019 have been published, with online voting now open to the 3,500 NHS CIOs, CCIOs and other digital health leaders who together form the Digital Health Networks community.

The awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the leaders making the biggest contributions to UK healthcare IT, and are the most prestigious peer-voted awards in the UK digital health sector.

The winners will be announced on the evening of 18 July at the annual two-day Digital Health Summer Schools, 18-19 July, University of Leeds.  Over 400 delegates will attend the year’s most popular meeting of current and future NHS IT leaders.

Some 90 nominations were made across six categories:

  • CCIO of the Year award, sponsored by CareWorks
  • CIO of the Year, sponsored by Socitim
  • CNIO of the Year, sponsored by Nervecentre
  • Future Digital Leader of the Year, sponsored by Equal Experts
  • Team of the Year, sponsored by WellSky (previously JAC)
  • Outstanding contribution award sponsored by Sectra.

The judges met, online and in person, at Digital Health’s London offices on Friday 14 June,  and following lively discussions and deliberation, whittled the entries down to four shortlists of three, and agreed winners for the Team of the Year and Future Digital Leader categories.

The shortlists chosen, and which are now open for online voting, are as follows:

CCIO of the Year short-list:

John McCormick, CCIO for NHS Devon CCG was nominated for leading a digital primary care programme that enabled Devon to become the second highest adopter nationally of non face-to-face GP appointments

James Reed, CCIO at Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health FT was cited as leading a number transformational programmes that are transforming the way his organisation works.

Gareth Thomas, Group CCIO, Salford Royal NHS FT was put forward for demonstrating “boundless” enthusiasm and passion for sharing and learning from best digital practice and ensuring others across the NHS benefit.

CIO of the Year short-list:

Graham King, CIO of Newcastle University Teaching Hospitals NHS FT, was nominated for his “selfless” effort to run the regional procurement of a HIE

Mandy Griffin, CIO and Managing Director The Health Informatics Service, Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS FT was put forward for her “unrelenting” vision for digitisation which has seen her trust ranked joint first in the Clinical Digital Maturity Index Feb 2019.

Carl Beet, CIO, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS FT was praised for his leadership which accelerated the trust in embracing digitisation, becoming a GDE and positively shifting culture.

CNIO of the Year short-list:

Natasha Phillips, CNIO of UCLH NHS FT was put forward to her “creative and adaptive leadership” style that has led to improved clinical collaborative working for the trust’s EHRS implementation.

Claire Lambie, CNIO at Gloucestershire CCG is credited with building and growing a CNIO community across Gloucestershire and driving the digital agenda forward especially in non-doctor professions.

Julie King, Assistive Technology Occupational Therapist, Edinburgh Health & Social Care Partnership was nominated for her “innovative”work in introducing a “person-centered approach to the introduction of technology” to support independent living.

Outstanding Contribution short-list

Paul Charnley, Director of IT and Information, The Wirral Teaching Hospital NHS FT together with Gareth Thomas, Group CCIO at Salford Royal NHS FT received a joint nomination for demonstrating their “boundless enthusiasm and passion” for sharing and learning from best practice and leadership of the GDE blueprinting programme.

Kevin Gannaway-Pitts, Clinical Systems and Change Manager, Gloucester Care Services NHS Trust was nominated for his “passion and strong leadership skills” and use of a range of digital platforms for a cultural movement locally to get fit and healthy.

Marianne Williams, Specialist Gastroenterology Community Dietitian, Somerset Partnership NHS FT was put forward for her  “open minded and fearless approach to digital” that has seen her set up a series of patient webinars and self-help videos for Irritable Bowel Syndrome patients.

Will Smart, the chair of judges said: “The standard of entries was fantastic and as such it was really difficult for the judges to decide on who to shortlist as finalists in some categories, and choosing the winners in others.”

He added: “The judges and I were impressed with the diverse range of entries, the quality of achievements and breadth of work that brought value to their NHS organisations. We would like to thank everyone that entered and look forward to seeing winners presented at the Summer Schools”.

Members of the Networks have until 11:59pm on 1 July 2019 to cast their vote online (only votes from Network members will be counted). You can apply to join here. All winners will be announced at the Summer Schools dinner, along with the winners in the Team of the Year and Future Digital Leader categories.

The full judging panel for the Digital Health Awards 2019 are:

  • Will Smart, CIO of Health and Care, NHS England (chairman of judges)
  • Jon Hoeksma, CEO, Digital Health
  • Phillipa Winter, Bolton Hospital NHS FT, CIO and CIO of the Year 2018
  • Dr James Reed, CCIO, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS FT
  • Lisa Emery, CIO, Royal Marsden NHS FT / Chair, London CIO Council
  • Dr Shera Chok, Medical Director, Tower Hamlets GP Care Group CIC
  • Ella Worsdale, Rising Star 2018, Head of Information, Pennine Care NHS FT
  • Dr Maureen Baker, Chair, PRSB
  • Jackie Murphy, Chief Nurse Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS FT, CNIO of the Year 2018

Cast your vote in the Digital Health Awards 2019 here.

    Leave A Comment