Digital Health Networks Awards

The Digital Health Networks Awards 2024, shine a spotlight on the best and brightest digital leaders shaping the future of healthcare within the NHS. Our awards celebrate innovation, dedication, and excellence across the healthcare landscape, recognising and celebrating the remarkable achievements and contributions of individuals and teams who are driving transformation through digital technologies.

The finalists, judged by representatives from our CCIO, CIO, CNIO Networks Advisory Panels and ICS Digital Council, are:

CCIO of the Year

  • Dr Lia Ali, Consultant Psychiatrist and Clinical Adviser, Transformation Directorate, NHS England
  • Ramandeep Kaur, Group CCIO, University Hospitals of Northamptonshire
  • Prof Tanya Pankhurst, CCIO, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS FT

CIO of the Year

  • Matt Harris, interim CDIO, Oxford University Hospitals NHS FT
  • Richard Main, Head of Digital (CIO), West Yorkshire Integrated Care Board – Calderdale, Kirklees and Wakefield Places
  • Natasha Chare, Group CDIO, University Hospitals of Northamptonshire

CNIO of the Year

  • Simon Noel, CNIO, Oxford University Hospitals NHS FT
  • Ranjit Kooner, CNIO, The Hillingdon Hospitals NHS FT & London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Leah Parry, CXIO: Nursing, Midwifery and AHPs, University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS FT(UHBW)

Team of the Year

  • NHSE London – Digital Urgent Emergency Care Team
  • The Great North Care Record (GNCR)
  • ICS Digital Team – Integrated Care Northamptonshire

Rising Star of the Year

  • Andrew Palmer, Programme Lead – GM Care Record, Health Innovation Manchester
  • Jess Sass, Digital Innovation Senior Business Analyst, Marie Curie
  • Tosin Akinlabi, Clinical Safety Officer, University Hospitals of Northamptonshire


Our judges will be looking for the following in each category:

CCIO of the Year:
This award recognises the Chief Clinical Information Officer who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and vision in harnessing digital solutions to improve patient care, streamline processes, and enhance clinical outcomes.

CIO of the Year:
Acknowledging the pivotal role of the Chief Information Officer, this award celebrates the individual who has displayed outstanding strategic thinking, innovation, and execution in leveraging technology to advance healthcare delivery and organisational goals.

CNIO of the Year:
For the Chief Nursing Information Officer who has exhibited exemplary leadership and innovation in integrating nursing practice with information management and technology, ultimately enhancing patient care and nursing workflows.

Team of the Year:
This accolade honours the collaborative efforts of a team that has achieved remarkable success in implementing digital initiatives, fostering innovation, and delivering tangible benefits to patients, clinicians, and healthcare organisations.

Rising Star:
Celebrating emerging talent and future leaders in digital health, this award recognises an individual who has made significant contributions early in their career, demonstrating exceptional promise, creativity, and dedication to driving positive change.


The 2024 Digital Health Networks awards will be judged by representatives from our CCIO, CIO, CNIO Advisory Panels and ICS Digital Council:

CCIO Advisory Panel

Penny Kechagioglou

Penny Kechagioglou,
Vice Chair

CIO Advisory Panel

Paul Jones

Paul Jones,

Abigail Harrison

Abigail Harrison,
Vice Chair

Debbie Loke

Debbie Loke,
Vice Chair

CNIO Advisory Panel

Simon Noel

Simon Noel,

Stacey Hatton

Stacey Hatton,
Vice Chair

Hayley Grafton

Hayley Grafton,
Vice Chair

ICS Digital Council

Paul Charnley

Paul Charnley,

Alec Price-Forbes

Alec Price-Forbes,
Vice Chair

Network Sponsors

CCIO Network

Health CIO Network

CNIO Network

ICS Digital Council

Event Partners